There is plenty of confusion surrounding state requiresments for veterinarians and technicians. Today, we’ll cover – in simplistic terms – the requirements for the state of Florida as we launch our first veterinary course: Medical Errors and Prevention Techniques in Veterinary Medicine (Florida). Stay tuned for more updates and information from other states!
FLORIDA STATE REQUIREMENTS
Veterinarian hours required:
30 hours biennially
Self-Study (online courses, journal review):
15 hours maximum in non-interactive online CE
2 hours minimum in the area of dispensing prescription drugs.
Not more than 5 hours may be obtained
28-general through business practice management courses or stress and impairment seminars.
Not more than 15 hours shall be non-interactive correspondence courses.
There is no CE requirement for Florida Laws and Rules.
Technician hours required:
15 hours biennially
Statutorily-approved programs (Veterinarians and Veterinary Technicians):
AVMA and its allied groups and colleges
Other Board approved programs